My week in veggies #3


Week 3 of my Abel & Cole challenge and right from the start I was not feeling very creative or adventurous. Finn had a sickness bug all week, so comfort fodder was the order of the day for the grown-ups to bolster us and give us the strength to get through it all. Poor Finn couldn’t eat anything. Not a particularly inspiring week, but we ate well and were satisfied.

Before you ask, yes I did order the orange juice (x2) in my next delivery. I need to stop being so easily influenced!

Week two.

Received: New potatoes (again); savoy cabbage; carrots; mushrooms; white onions; chicory (and eggs).

Free gift: Absolutely delicious orange juice

The mushrooms went into this extremely rustic (lazy) chicken and mushroom pie, served alongside the carrots, buttered and mashed.

I really don’t know if there is any better comfort food than sausage, mash and onion gravy – perfect bedfellows for the savoy cabbage sautéed with pancetta.

I was tempted to throw the chicory in the obvious blue cheese and walnut salad, but then found this recipe for a chicory gratin and decided to give it a go. It was delicious, served with perfectly pink duck breasts.

The onions were used in general day-to-day cooking.

Wastage: potatoes (again) – we just don’t eat much potato in F&G towers.

4 Comments

Filed under Food diaries, General, The life and times of Becci

4 responses to “My week in veggies #3

  1. Mark Edmondson

    As always inspirational, I realise just how lucky I am when I get playback of what you cook for me. I am such a lucky fella!

  2. I was looking forward to the next instalment. A tasty menu.

  3. lynette

    just wanted to let you know that the link to Abe and Cole is stuffed up.. it’s got http at the end.. see? http://www.abelandcole.co.ukhttp

Leave a Reply

