Slow-roasted shoulder of lamb


When I was growing up my dad cooked a roast every single Sunday without fail. He was the unchallenged master of roasts. That is, until now. After many years of practice I think I’m almost ready to challenge for his crown. Yesterday I slow-roasted this shoulder of lamb (well half a shoulder – there was only two of us, afterall) and it was the bomdiggy, and so easy. With this method there is none of the usual stress associated with a roast. You bung the lamb in and leave it for hours, leaving you plenty of time to prepare the accompaniments at your leisure. Easy like Sunday morning.

Just slash the fat side of the joint with a sharp knife a few times. Then rub all over with olive oil and season well with salt and pepper. Scatter some rosemary sprigs and whole unpeeled garlic cloves in an appropriately sized roasting tray, then place the joint on top. Place some more rosemary sprigs and garlic cloves on top of the joint  before covering the whole roasting tray tightly with tin foil. Put in an oven that has been pre-heated to 220 degrees, but immediately turn it down to 170. Roast in the oven for 3-4 hours.

When it’s ready, remove the joint from the roasting tray and use the juices to make a gravy. I squeezed some of the roasted garlic into the pan, which gave a lovely but subtle garlic flavour to the gravy. I served my roast lamb with roasties, parsnips and steamed cabbage. I also threw some more of those lovely roasted garlic cloves on top and they made a delicious accompaniment.

2 Comments

Filed under Lamb, Main courses

2 responses to “Slow-roasted shoulder of lamb

  1. that looks sooo good. growing up, my dad also made roast dinner with out fail. I didn’t appreciate it then, but I sure do now! yum.

    • Ever since I first slow-roasted shoulder of lamb, I can’t go back. It really is so so good. I think the weekly sunday roast is the glue that held my family together! I’m definitely going to do the same with my kids (when I have some that is!)
      xx

Leave a Reply

