A spicy breakfast treat: Breakfast burrito


Whilst I was on my recent pregnancy-enduced spice kick my body demanded chilli pretty much wherever it could get it (I know you know this, but it dominated my diet for a good while so it’s natural it will crop up in this here diary of my kitchen, innit?). After some serious consideration I realised that the only way I could reasonably wrangle chilli in pre-midday was to dish up a spicy breakfast burrito. This I did. A good many times. The below recipe is the product of my furtive chilli endeavours.

Until a couple of years ago I actually thought the breakfast burrito was the concoction of a madman. Eggs? And chilli? Together? In a tortilla? For breakfast? Pure insanity. However, the deluded one was I. The combination of creamy eggs, hot chilli, spring onions, cheese, tomato, avocado and coriander, all wrapped up in a tortilla is actually pretty close to breakfast perfection as you could ever hope to get. Vibrant, colourful, fresh, and laced with some get-up-and-go heat… seriously: this will wake you up in the morning and put some ants in your pants for the rest of the day. My ignorance and stupidity no doubt robbed me of eating many fantastic breakfast burritos when I lived in Southern California (where I scoffed at the ridiculous Americans chowing down on spicy Mexican food in the morning). Damned foolish ignorance. Taste, taste, taste.

The breakfast burrito

  • 1 avocado, stoned and sliced
  • 1 lime
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • red chilli, finely chopped, to taste
  • small bunch of coriander, roughly chopped
  • 3 spring onions, trimmed and finely chopped
  • a generous handful of Manchego cheese, grated
  • 2 flour tortilla (or corn if you prefer)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of smoked paprika
  • a good knob of butter
  • salt and pepper.

First of all prepare all your ingredients (except the tortilla, butter, eggs, lime and paprika) so that you can add them to your burrito quickly once the scrambled eggs are ready.

Then in a dry hot pan fry your tortilla for a few seconds on each side until warmed through and soft. Wrap them in foil to keep them warm until your eggs are ready.

Beat your eggs in a bowl or jug with the spring onions and a pinch of salt and pepper. Then using the pan you fried your tortilla in (saving washing up), melt your butter over a medium heat and add your eggs. Gently scramble your eggs adding a pinch of smoked paprika (or you could switch in cayenne pepper if you like). Be careful you don’t over scramble the eggs as they will be dry and rubbery (and yucky). I usually turn the heat off when they are a little under-done so if they sit in the pan for a few extra seconds they will be perfect.

Now it’s just time to compile your burrito. Pop the two tortillas on two plates and spoon on half the eggs on each.

Now sprinkle over each of your toppings: chilli (as much or as little as you like), cheese, avocado, tomato and coriander. If you like you can dash over some chilli sauce to add it a bit more oomph (I like Smoked Chipotle Tabasco).

Give it a good squeeze of lime and wrap. That’ll wake you up in the morning.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/brunch, Cheese, Chillies, Eggs, Recipes, Tomatoes

3 responses to “A spicy breakfast treat: Breakfast burrito

  1. Oh I love the idea of spicy scrambled eggs in a breakfast burrito! This may have to make an appearance this weekend.

  2. Oh boy, oh boy. Now that’s inspiration for brunch this Sunday!

  3. Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through
    your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover
    the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

Leave a Reply

