F&G on TV: Me doing my best Saturday Kitchen impersonation


A few weeks ago Winebox.tv contacted me to ask if I would mind helping them out with some front of camera interviewing work. My initial reaction was “hells no” for a number of reasons: 1) I had never done anything like that and just… the horror, 2) I was 12 weeks pregnant and not exactly feeling camera-ready, 3) I hate hearing my voice (outside of my head) so I imagined that the cringiness would be multiplied exponentially when my face was included, and 4) there was a strong possibility of me making a total dick of myself. So, taking all of these very worthy objections into account I was resolved to say “no thank you very much”. Then my husband made me feel silly and out of confusion and embarrassment I found myself saying “yes”.

A few days later I showed up at Sam’s of Brighton to film my slot. My job was to interview the head chef as he prepared a game dish, a la James Martin in Saturday Kitchen (although perhaps a comparison with Amanda Lamb of Market Kitchen would be more appropriate). After channelling my inner-Amanda, I stepped up to the hotplate and surprise surprise it wasn’t as horrifying as I feared. It was actually fun.

I’ll leave it to you to decide whether I did in fact make a dick of myself. I did cringe the entire way through watching it  (what is that face I make when I’m listening to people speak? Shudder!), but I do acknowledge that I am probably not the right person to judge.

I also make a brief appearance in this one.

Anyway, after sharing that, I want to tell you about winebox tv. It is an online video venture which makes original food and drink programmes in Sussex (and mostly Brighton). Most of the programmes are hosted by local boy vintner extraordinaire Henry Butler, owner of Butler’s Wine Cellar in Kemp Town, and complete wine buff. Some of the videos are quite specific to Brighton as they showcase local restaurants by reviewing their wine lists, matching wines with signature dishes and general style of cuisine. For example, below is Henry on The Chilli Pickle’s wine list. These videos are a fantastic resource for Brightonians as it’s as good as having an excellent sommelier on hand for the best restaurants in town. Everyone in Brighton should check these vids out before they eat out.

However, many of the programmes are more general, answering common questions about wine and giving advice about what to look for in different wines and grapes. Anyone can enjoy (and learn a ton) from these. One of my favourites so far was this one. I shall be following the advice from hence forth.

Anyway, I think these videos are a fantastic resource and we’re especially lucky to have them in Brighton. I vote Henry gets himself on tv and spreads his vast knowledge in his own ineffable style to the masses asap. But for now, at least we have him online.

I’d love to hear what you think of my television debut; but please be kind.

12 Comments

Filed under Brighton, The life and times of Becci, Wine

12 responses to “F&G on TV: Me doing my best Saturday Kitchen impersonation

  1. I thought you looked a teensy bit uncomfortable and were scratching for words sometimes, but that was really just nerves and for a first go, I think you did brilliantly. 🙂 You certainly didn’t do anything “total dick-worthy” and I love your hair, I’m so jealous! LOL

  2. A.J

    I thought you were cool and you comment on your face !! Well ! I thought you just looked as if you were into what was going on ,concentrating etc……Well done go for it!!

  3. Good job! I didn’t think you looked uncomfortable at all – right at home in front of the camera like 🙂

  4. Cute! And you can’t even tell your preggers ^_^

  5. Oh god, the shame, I mean “you’re”…

  6. Mum

    What a pro! You looked so photogenic and asked such appropriate questions. I think you did a fantastic job – you took to it like a duck to water. I can’t wait to see more! (As you well know, I would die if I were in that situation!) Brilliant! (I’d like to watch that again!)

  7. Fiona

    Well done you! And congratulations too!! XX

  8. Dad

    You get more of a pro every day and I enjoyed the review! For a first time I thought it great, but remember that less is more and silence and gaps can be quite creative! What a gal!

Leave a Reply

