A slothful chicken pie


I really questioned whether or not to post this. I first cooked it back in October as part of my review of Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals and then didn’t have time to write it up. I had all but resolved that the moment had passed. But then walking home from the office today, as my face started tingling from the cold and my fingers were freezing through my gloves, I knew exactly what the perfect antidote would be and I decided that you all need this recipe for the quickest and easiest chicken and mushroom pie in the world.

Since October I have cooked it at least 3 more times, but it is of course a cheat’s pie. It’s on the table in 30 mins (perhaps one of the few JO’s 30-minute meals that is!) and sure maybe that means that it’s not a “proper” pie. But sometimes on a Tuesday or Wednesday night you just need something warming and hearty that you can throw in the oven (we don’t all have the time to be making pastry mid-week after all). And to be honest, since I’ve been pregnant between the sciatica and heartburn, back aches and tiredness, the frequency of my need for this kind of easy meal has increased exponentially. However, considering the ease and speed at which this pie is on the table, the flavours are spot on. Buttery chicken with a big hit of English mustard in the creamy sauce, all under a blanket of crisp puff pastry. A proper no-stress winter warmer.

Chicken Pie

(Adapted from Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals)

  • 500g free-range chicken (you can use breast or thigh)
  • a knob of butter
  • 1 bunch of spring onions
  • 150g button mushrooms
  • 1 heaped tsp plain flour (plus extra for dusting)
  • 2 tsp English mustard
  • 1 tbsp creme fraiche
  • 300ml chicken stock
  • a few sprigs of thyme
  • 1/2 a nutmeg, grated
  • 1 sheet of pre-rolled puff pastry
  • 1 egg
  • salt & pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil.

Pre-heat the oven to 200°C. Chop up the button mushroom and spring onions and slice the chicken into strips or bite-sized chunks.

Heat a lug of olive oil and a knob of butter in a heavy-based pan over a medium heat. Add the chicken and cook for a few minutes. Add the mushrooms and spring onions to the pan with a tablespoon of plain flour and give it all a good stir. Mix in two teaspoons of English mustard, a generous tablespoon of creme fraiche and 300ml of good chicken stock (though I have used a stock pot and it was fine). Finally add some picked thyme leaves and a good grating of nutmeg, season with sea salt and pepper. Leave simmering on the stove whilst you sort out your pastry.

When I say “sort out your pastry” of course I simply mean get it out of the fridge and unroll onto a dry lightly floured work surface. Using a knife, lightly criss-cross the surface.

Once your chicken filling has thickened up slightly, tip it into a ovenproof baking dish slightly smaller than the sheet of pastry. Cover the filling with the sheet of pastry; don’t worry about the edges, just tuck them in around the filling.

Lightly beat the egg with a fork, then brush it over the top of the pie.

Bake on the top shelf of the oven for around 15 minutes, or until gorgeously browned.

If you want to go all the way Jamie, serve alongside peas and smashed carrots.

11 Comments

Filed under Baking, Chicken, Jamie Oliver, Main courses, Mushrooms, Pastry, Recipes, Thyme, Weekday dinners

11 responses to “A slothful chicken pie

  1. Oooh my – that looks so so yummy. A perfect mid-week treat if ever I saw one. Hope you’re keeping toasty warm! Hannah x

  2. Bel

    I love this recipe – I’ve made it about 5 times since seeing it on Jamie’s 30 minute meals TV show. Tried to find the Jamie recipe on the net but it’s nowhere to be seen – obviously they want you to buy the cook book! This recipe is pretty damn close, so now saved as a favourite for me! So easy, tasty & yummy

  3. rick

    hi, in the text you mention 2 tablespoons of eng mustard (in the list it is tspn) – i’m picking it is the latter!

  4. Carla

    I don’t see how this is ‘adapted’, you’ve just not made the sides and the desserts in the Jamie book! Still, good pie.

    • As I cooked this recipe as part of a review of the book the recipe is more or less the same as the book (apart from changing the proportions of some of the ingredients)… however, it is marked as “adapted” as I didn’t copy the recipe from the book (which could be copyright infringement), I rewrote the entire recipe in my own words following the method and timings that I used to cook it.

      Glad you enjoyed the pie.

  5. Derek

    Looks delicious. What size baking dish should be used for this recipe?

  6. Pingback: Chicken pie - a very tasteful dish in 30 minutes!

  7. Hello there!

    Just tried the Chicken pie today. Simple, fast and deliciuos!!! Documented the whole process in my blog:
    http://katinkitchen.com/chicken-pie/

    PS
    I am new at blogging, so i would be glad about any comments or opinions.

    Greetings!

  8. Hey, how many would this receptive serve please? Thanks

Leave a Reply

