I made this (or what I’ve been doing for the last 3 months)


Forgive me blogosphere for I have sinned. It has been over 3 months since my last post. My poor blog has been shockingly neglected and bereft of attention, but you see I’ve been rather busy. Since we last spoke I made this. “This” is Finn. He is 12 weeks and 5 days old. He takes up a LOT of time.

The first hurdle I had to overcome was actually getting him out of my body. That little task took 4 days. 4 days, I tell thee. No one tells you before you get pregnant that this is a possibility, but it is. And it sucks. Eventually (after 4 days), we all gave up and I had to have a c-section. I wish I had just had it at the start. 4 bloody days. Anyway, when he eventually came out (the wrong way), he was magic. Did I mention it took 4 days?

The first few weeks consisted of feeding, changing and sleeping… and not much else. My job was to look after the baby. Sven’s job was to look after me. We survived on a diet of takeaway, beans on toast, pizza, and anything else that Sven could rustle up with his limited prowess in the kitchen. I’m not complaining – I could have done no better at the time. If I wasn’t feeding or sleeping then I was pretty much just gazing in wonderment at this thing that we had made. This sadly left little time for blogging.

Over the next few weeks I began to re-enter the real world, gradually stepping out of the house (once I could finally walk again – ouchy), putting on make-up (a minor miracle), and little by little getting into the kitchen again. However, when you seem to spend about 60% of your time doing this…

…it’s difficult to make anything worth writing about. Pasta, one-pot-wonders and anything I could put in the oven and leave there without ruining when “ready in 20 mins” turned into an hour. Babies have little respect for dinnertime – a fact I’m still struggling with. However, I’m very happy to say that at last Finn is settling into some semblance of a routine and life seems to be returning, if not quite to normal then to some new kind of normality and I feel like I *might* manage to cook and write again. It may not be often, and it often may not be good, but I will endeavour, my friends…

In the meantime, here are some pics of my little bambino. A pretty distraction, no?

ps. If you follow me on twitter, apologies for the constant photos, but come on… he’s too goddam cute.

10 Comments

Filed under The life and times of Becci

10 responses to “I made this (or what I’ve been doing for the last 3 months)

  1. He looks so cute! Glad things are going well for you, it must be such hard work!

  2. Congratulations! Wonderful wonderful news – I am so happy for you. Finn looks gorgeous! Hope you’re managing to get some sleep and you are enjoying your new adventure… x

  3. Congratulations! He is unspeakably gorgeous.

  4. Long time lurker coming out of the woodword to say ‘congratulations’.

  5. Or even the woodwork!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

